OUI Penalties and Criminal Punisment Laws in Massachusetts

Posted on Posted in Uncategorized

Criminal Defense and OUI Laws in Massachusetts

Whenever someone is arrested for OUI in Massachusetts, they may wrongfully assume there simply isn’t much they can do aside from show up for a hearing and take whatever punishment or penalties the criminal court system hands down. However, when you invest in skilled, experienced and compassionate representation, your rights will be protected and you can rest assured someone is in your corner to ensure you get the best possible outcome. Each OUI arrest is different and the unique circumstances of your situation can work to help resolve the matter in the best way possible for you.


What is OUI

OUI is the operation of a motor vehicle on a public way or a way upon which the public has access to, while under the influence of intoxicating liquor. A blood alcohol content test is used to determine if someone is over the legal limit for alcohol. Being under the influence of drugs or other substances that lead to impairment can also lead to an operating under the influence charge. You can be charged with OUI if you are driving a car, boat, ATV or any other motorized vehicle in Massachusetts while under the influence. The blood alcohol content numbers and what is deemed over the limit varies according to type of vehicle and age of driver.

What Are The Penalties for OUI in Massachusetts

The penalties and fines for an OUI conviction in Massachusetts are amongst the toughest in the nation. If you are facing an OUI charge, it is vital that you know what kind of punishment may apply to your situation. The penalties essentially increase with every OUI conviction in Massachusetts. The basic outline of what punishments you may have to contend with if convicted of OUI is as follows:
1st offense—a loss of license for 1 year, fines ranging between $500-$5000, possible jail time of up to 2 ½ years, an alcohol education program and a fee of $50 to $1200 to reinstate your driver’s license.
2nd offense—license suspicion of 2 years, $600-$10,000 fine, jail time of 60 days to 2 ½ years with 30 days suspended and the mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device.

3rd and 4th offense—these are upgraded to felony offenses. Loss of license for 8 to 10 years, fines from $15,000 to $25,000 and jail time of up to 5 years. A 5th offense will result in a lifetime loss of driver’s license.

What a Criminal Defense Attorney Can Do For You

When you secure a legal professional from the Shapiro Law Group, PC who is an experienced in Criminal Defense Law in MA and who will compassionately take the time to hear your side and help you avoid the harshest penalties, you can sleep easier at night knowing someone is on your side. The loss of your license and the fines that are possible with an OUI conviction can have very serious consequences on your family, your career and your reputation. Knowing your rights is essential; but securing representation that will fight for your rights and do everything possible to help you achieve the best possible outcome is highly recommended. A criminal defense strategy can help organize the evidence against you, determine what may be arguable, conduct a thorough investigation into your case, fight for you during your trial, arrange an appeal if needed and help secure restoration of your license as soon as possible. From plea bargains to probation, a skilled and experience criminal defense attorney with a background in OUI cases can help you achieve the optimal result from your case.

If you have been arrested for OUI, contact an attorney from the Shapiro Law Group, PC so we can learn more about your case and possibly put together a strategy to help you.

By Anna Shapiro

______________________________________________________________________